Utah does not license the traditional paralegals who work under a lawyer's supervision, as far as our research shows; the absence is inferred from the Utah State Bar's materials, not stated by a regulator.
The license Utah does issue in this space is the Licensed Paralegal Practitioner (LPP) under Rule 4-802, for specific family-law matters, eviction and debt collection up to the small-claims limit.
A paralegal certificate is an education credential, and our research found no paralegal certificate or certification the state itself issues — this page covers the state rules, what employers expect, voluntary certifications and programs.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Our research found no general paralegal license — the absence is inferred from the Utah State Bar's materials, not stated by a regulator, so check with the bar.
The LPP license is a separate, limited license for independent practice in specific areas, not a license for the traditional lawyer-supervised paralegal role.
Not established in our research — NFPA's list of 16 state-level voluntary paralegal certifications names no Utah credential.
Yes — the Licensed Paralegal Practitioner (LPP) license under Rule 4-802, limited to specific family-law matters, eviction and debt collection up to the small-claims limit.
Not established in our research — check each employer's job posting.
A Utah license under Rule 4-802 to give legal help in specific family-law matters, eviction and debt collection up to the small-claims limit, for natural-person clients only.
Our research found no Utah license for the traditional paralegals who work under a licensed attorney's supervision — but the sources we read, the Utah State Bar's Licensed Paralegal Practitioner page, frame the LPP as a separate, optional license rather than stating that paralegals are unlicensed, so the absence is our inference and worth confirming with the bar.
What Utah licenses in this space is the Licensed Paralegal Practitioner: Rule 4-802 of the Rules Governing the Utah State Bar creates an exception to the authorization to practice law for an LPP, who may give legal help only in the practice areas the license covers.
NFPA lists the Utah Licensed Paralegal Practitioner Program among the state legal paraprofessional programs it tracks — a different category from voluntary paralegal certification.
The LPP license is covered in detail below.
Our research found no Utah education rule for paralegals and did not establish what employers in the state ask for — read the job posting and ask the employer.
The voluntary credentials' own eligibility rules show the preparation routes they recognize.
NALA's paralegal-studies category, for example, accepts graduation from a paralegal program with ABA approval, an associate degree program, a post-baccalaureate paralegal certificate program, a bachelor's degree in paralegal studies, or a paralegal program of at least 60 semester hours with at least 15 semester hours of substantive legal courses; its experience path asks for a high school diploma or equivalent, five years of paralegal experience and at least 20 hours of substantive CLE completed within the two years before applying, with an attorney or employer attestation.
One vocabulary note, as NALA draws it: a certificate recognizes successful completion of a learning program, a certification validates mastery against a professional standard, and finishing a paralegal course does not by itself make you a certified paralegal.
No Utah credential appears in what we verified: NFPA's regulation page lists 16 state-level voluntary paralegal certifications — the California Certified Paralegal, the Florida Registered Paralegal and the Texas Board of Legal Specialization Certified Paralegal among them — and names no Utah credential.
What our research documents instead are the voluntary credentials offered by NALA, NFPA and NALS.
NALA's Certified Paralegal (CP) runs a Knowledge Exam and then a Skills Exam, stays valid for five years and renews on 50 CLE hours per five-year period, including at least 5 hours of legal ethics; NALA's statistics report 6,665 active Certified Paralegals as of August 1, 2026.
NFPA's entry-level PCCE earns the CRP designation and its advanced PACE earns the Registered Paralegal (RP) designation, and NFPA says someone without substantive paralegal work experience is not eligible for either exam under its current criteria.
NALS offers three certifications — the ALP (Accredited Legal Professional), CLP (Certified Legal Professional) and PP (Professional Paralegal) — with no NALS membership required for its exams.
The one training route our research documents in Utah is the education requirement for the LPP license, and it is in transition: the required courses moved from Utah Valley University to the Utah State Bar after December 31, 2025, and course registration was not open when the bar's page was read in October 2026, so anyone considering the LPP route should check the bar's Licensed Paralegal Practitioner page for current arrangements.
Beyond that, our research did not identify specific paralegal programs in Utah, and we could not confirm how many Utah paralegal programs hold ABA approval: the ABA's directory page was not readable when we researched, so we state no count.
What our research does establish is how ABA approval works — a program chooses to seek it, the process runs through a self-evaluation report and an on-site visit, the ABA House of Delegates gives final approval, and approval lasts seven years — and that it approves programs, not individual paralegals.
For current options, search the ABA's paralegal resource directory and confirm a program's approval status with the ABA before you enroll.
The LPP license exists because Rule 4-802 of the Rules Governing the Utah State Bar creates an exception to the authorization to practice law, and an LPP may give legal help only in the licensed practice areas.
Those areas are specific family-law matters — divorce, custody and support, and protective orders among them — plus forcible entry and detainer (eviction) and debt collection up to the small-claims limit.
LPPs can represent only natural persons, not corporations; they can complete and file approved forms, advise, and negotiate settlements, and they may sit with clients in court.
They may not charge contingency fees, but they can own their own firms, and there is no reciprocal LPP licensing.
LPPs are subject to annual MCLE and file the same Certificate of Compliance as Utah lawyers.
NFPA's regulation page lists the Utah Licensed Paralegal Practitioner Program among the state legal paraprofessional programs it tracks.
“Rule 4-802 of the Rules Governing the Utah State Bar creates an exception to the authorization to practice law for an LPP.”
Utah's legal regulatory sandbox is run by the Office of Legal Services Innovation within the Utah State Bar.
It is closed to new applications and is scheduled to sunset on August 14, 2027.
The Utah Supreme Court narrowed the sandbox in fall 2024 and closed its alternative-business-structure (ABS)-only portion at the end of 2024, so the sandbox is not currently a route to a new nonlawyer-owned firm; separately, an LPP can own their own firm under the LPP license.
For paralegals the practical point is narrow: none of these changes creates a paralegal license — the LPP license stands on its own rule (Rule 4-802) — and what an attorney-supervised paralegal job requires is a question for each employer's job posting.
This page summarizes the Utah court rules, board and bar pages and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state paralegal requirements series, current as of October 2026.
It is not a substitute for the instructions the Utah State Bar publishes.
Our research found no general paralegal license in Utah, and the sources we read frame licensed paraprofessional practice through the separate LPP license — so the absence is an inference rather than a regulator statement, and it is worth confirming with the Utah State Bar.
No Utah state paralegal certification appeared in what we checked, and what each job requires comes from the employer's posting.
The voluntary credentials our research documents are NALA's CP, NFPA's CRP or RP, and NALS's ALP, CLP or PP.
No. As NALA draws the distinction, a certificate recognizes successful completion of a learning program, while a certification validates mastery of knowledge and skills against an established professional standard; finishing a paralegal course does not by itself make you a certified paralegal.
In Utah, a paralegal certificate program is education, and the Certified Paralegal or similar designation is a voluntary certification you qualify for and test for — our research found no paralegal certification the state itself issues.
An LPP may give legal help only in the license's practice areas: specific family-law matters such as divorce, custody and support, and protective orders, forcible entry and detainer (eviction), and debt collection up to the small-claims limit.
LPPs can represent only natural persons, not corporations; they can complete and file approved forms, advise, and negotiate settlements, and they may sit with clients in court.
They may not charge contingency fees, but they can own their own firms.
The license stands on Rule 4-802 of the Rules Governing the Utah State Bar, and its required education courses moved from Utah Valley University to the Utah State Bar after December 31, 2025; when the bar's page was read in October 2026, course registration was not open.
That makes the entry route a moving target, so check the Utah State Bar's Licensed Paralegal Practitioner page for current course and application arrangements before you plan around it.
The sandbox is not currently a route to a new nonlawyer-owned firm.
The Utah Supreme Court narrowed the sandbox in fall 2024 and closed its alternative-business-structure (ABS)-only portion at the end of 2024, and the sandbox, run by the Office of Legal Services Innovation within the Utah State Bar, is closed to new applications and is scheduled to sunset on August 14, 2027.
Separately, a Licensed Paralegal Practitioner can own their own firm under the LPP license, which stands on its own rule; none of the sandbox changes creates a paralegal license.
Sources
Sourced from the documents listed above.
Verified October 2026.
This is career information, not legal advice.
Confirm current rules with the Utah State Bar.